All staff use the Early Years Foundation Stage EYFS to plan appropriate learning and development experiences based on children’s individual interests. We think carefully about how children engage with other people and their environment to support each child to be an effective and motivated learner. Staff observe how children use the resources and space to plan for future leaning and development opportunities.

The EYFS have 4 themes which are:

  • A Unique Child
  • Positive Relationships
  • Enabling Environments
  • Learning and Development


    The Unique Child reaches out to relate to people and thing through the characteristics of Effective Learning, which moves through all areas of learning:

  • Active learning

  • Creating and thinking critically
  • Playing and exploring

The Areas of Learning and Development are then divided into 7 areas, with 3 prime areas that are the key to children’s further development:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Behaviour
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development

Four more specific areas which will develop once a child has developed the skills needed from the prime areas are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive Arts and Design


We recognise you as parent/carers as prime educators when it comes to your child’s learning and encourage you to tell us about exciting things that you are doing or holidays that you are going on so that we can share the excitement with your child.

Your child will be assigned a Key Person who will build a caring and strong relationship with your child. We also operate a buddy system. Please speak to your key person for further information about this. You can click here to view the official guide to EYFS which is supported by the department of education.